leagueofancients.org.au Forum Index leagueofancients.org.au
League of Ancients
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wheeling during a charge

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    leagueofancients.org.au Forum Index -> Napoleonics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Steve Green



Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 201
Location: Woodend

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:23 pm    Post subject: Wheeling during a charge Reply with quote

This is a post from an ongoing thread on the Slitherine forum, relates to that question that arose during the Sommesous battle in the campaign.
Thought it a relevant point to highlight. It deals with any minimum and maximum wheel during a charge.

Re: Charging question from Cold Wars

Postby terrys Thu Mar 27, 2014 4:00 pm

This rule is intended to stop players from getting some advantage out of wheeling during the charge to 'clip' some part of the enemy and gain some advantage by it. (for example, wheeling to hit the enemy in such a position that they no longer get flank support.
It is not intended to stop you contacting the enemy.

It you have to wheel past the enemy centre in order to contact them, then you are allowed to do so - the charge direction in this case being the minimum amount of wheel that would contact the enemy. Have defined that as the direction of charge, you could not then wheel any more, since this would take your direction of charge FURTHER past the enemy centre.
_________________
The Dead Cost Nothing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Green



Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 201
Location: Woodend

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This just appeared on the forum (hey, I've had a slow morning at work, OK!!).

Re: Charging question from Cold Wars

Postby Blathergut Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:22 pm

Oh my gosh, how can this still not be clear?

1st priority: wheel the charging unit so that it's centre point lines up with some part of the enemy...you may keep wheeling if it brings more of your unit to bear on the enemy unit (as per the diagram page 29)

2nd priority: if wheeling in this manner would cause your unit to NOT be able to contact, then the above requirements do not apply. You may wheel in whatever manner you need to be able to contact the enemy unit...but...you may not wheel more than the minimum to allow contact.

I think this is pretty clear now.
_________________
The Dead Cost Nothing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carriage



Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To be fair, that Viper dude still disagrees and Terry didn't clear it up. Blathergut is just a mod.

I still agree with you and him though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    leagueofancients.org.au Forum Index -> Napoleonics All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group